|


|
 |
|
Using Our Databases
-
ABI/Inform Global
This database
provides US and international business information
full-text, including the "Wall
Street Journal". Off-campus use is
limited to St. Ambrose
students, faculty, and staff that login to the
proxy server.-
-
-
America: History & Life
This database provides citations and
abstracts on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Off-campus use is limited
to St. Ambrose students, faculty and staff that login to the proxy
server.
-
-
American Chemical Society Publications
-
This database provides full text articles
from more than 30 journals and publications of the American Chemical
Society. Click on "Search the Journals" to search by keyword or author.
Click on "Journals & Magazines" to view articles in the newest issues.
-
American Occupational Therapy
Assoc. Abstracts
-
-
This database indexes the literature of
occupational therapy and related subject areas such as rehabilitation
and health care delivery or administration. It does
not include the full text of the articles. It also includes a
tutorial with search tips.
This service requires a password and is limited to St. Ambrose students,
faculty and staff.
For assistance you may e-mail
librefdesk@ambrose.sau.edu or call the reference desk at the Library
(563) 333-6245. Any librarian can assist you.
-
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
-
This database
provides full-text access to articles from the four journals published
by the ASHA. These include American Journal of Audiology (1900
- present), Journal of Speech-Language Pathology (1900 - present),
Journal of Speech, Language & Hearing Research (1900 - present), and
Language, Speech, & Hearing Services (1900 - present). Access
is limited to currently enrolled faculty, staff, and students of St.
Ambrose University either on campus, or via the proxy server.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital
library of art images and associated information. ARTstor
contains over 300,000 images from a variety of cultures and time
periods. Available to St. Ambrose University students, faculty,
and staff on campus only. Requires Flash Player v. 6 or above and
that pop-up blocking software be disabled or set to allow pop-ups from
this site.
Catich Digital Collection
The database provides digital
access to the artwork of Father Edward Catich, one of the world's finest
calligraphers. Fr. Catich, an art professor at St. Ambrose
University, was an international authority on stone incising,
topography, and the origin and history of the Roman alphabet.
Cochrane Library of Evidence-Based Medicine Databases
This database provides full text and abstracts of methodology reviews,
trials register, protocols, assessments, and evaluations of health care
interventions. Also included is a section on how to cite the
information found in this database.
Off-campus use is limited to St. Ambrose students, faculty, and staff
that login to the proxy server.
-
Criminal Justice Abstracts
-
Covering the period of 1968 to the present, this database
contains comprehensive coverage of major journals in criminology &
related disciplines, reports from government & nongovernmental
agencies, and books. The information given includes a summary of the
document, methodology, and conclusions. Only abstracts are
available; no full-text is provided. Available to SAU
students, faculty & staff on campus, or by logging in through the
proxy server.
-
EBSCOhost
-
EBSCOhost is provided by
IowaLink, and funded by the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust.
This service is a collection of databases (many full-text) focusing
on business, health & clinical reference, academic subjects, and
international newspapers. The materials found in this service
include journals, books, pamphlets, reference resources, and
newspapers. This resource is available from both on and off
campus. In order to access this service from off campus, you
will need a valid SAU library card. If accessing from off
campus, all you need to do is click on the "off-campus" link, and
enter the barcode on the back of your SAU library card for
admittance, or log in through the proxy server. If you have
any questions please contact the information desk at (563)
333-6245.
ERIC -
ERIC database covers of
983,00 items focusing on journal articles and reports in education
from 1966 to the present. ERIC contains annotated references
to non-journal material issued in the monthly "Resources in
Education" (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly
"Current Index to Journals in Education" (CIJE).
-
FirstSearch Databases
-
FirstSearch is a collection
of over 70 different databases. Included in this service is access
to full text information through ABI Inform, Periodical Abstracts (PerAbs)
and Wilson Select. This service includes databases which also
provide access to dissertations, book catalogs, and journals in
psychology, sociology, business, health sciences, public policy.
This service requires a password and is only available to St.
Ambrose students, faculty and staff. For assistance you may e-mail
librefdesk@sau.edu or call
the reference desk at the Library, (563) 333-6245. Any librarian can
assist you.
-
Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online
includes the full text of over 45,000 articles and over 130,000 images.
The database provides information on civilizations, cultures, and people
who have created visual art in all its forms and mediums from the
beginning of time to the present day. Available to St. Ambrose
students, faculty, and staff on campus, or by dialing in to the campus
server. -
-
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online includes the full
text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2nd edition, The
New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Dictionary of Jazz 2nd
edition. It contains nearly 50,000 articles, audio musical
examples, and extensive links to musical sites on the Internet.
Available to St. Ambrose students, faculty, and staff on campus, or by
dialing in to the campus server. -
- High
Wire Press
-
This database provides free access to abstracts and some
full-text articles in the science fields. Full-text articles
are clearly marked as "free". Some articles require a password
or subscription to obtain full text. Available on or off
campus.
-
-
Historical Abstracts
-
This database provides
citations and abstracts about the history of the world, excluding North
America, from 1450 to the present. Off-campus use is limited to
St. Ambrose students, faculty and staff that dial in to SAU for internet
services.
-
-
History Universe
-
This database provides a
variety of African American materials covering the colonial era to
the present day. Included in this database are primary and
secondary resources including major federal legislation, U.S.
Supreme Court decisions, autobiographies, manuscript materials,
reference articles, and scholarly articles. Available to all
computers on campus or available off-campus if you log into the
proxy server with your login ID and password.
-
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter's bibliography includes
literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review
articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are
included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in
conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition
catalogues). Off-campus use is limited to St. Ambrose students,
faculty, and staff that log into the proxy server.
-
-
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text of 241 core academic
journals in the fields of economics, history, political science, sociology,
Latin American and Middle Eastern studies, etc. The database provides
complete archives of the journals. Available to SAU students, faculty,
and staff for on-campus use, or via the proxy server for off-campus.
-
-
Lexis-Nexis
-
This database is full-text and offers
access to the contents of over 5,000 journals, magazines,
newspapers, legal documents and reference resources. It includes
company financial information, industry and market news, foreign and
U.S. newspapers, magazines and trade journals, federal and state
case law, accounting information, medical news and abstracts, law
reviews, state and country profiles and more. The vast majority of
articles are available full-text. Searching is done by selecting
from 19 different topic areas and filling in an electronic search
form. Available at all computers on campus or available off-campus
if you login to the SAU proxy server with your ID and password. For
assistance you may e-mail
librefdesk@sau.edu or call
the reference desk at the Library, (563) 333-6245, where any
librarian can assist you.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies,
bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors. It covers more
than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other
writers. It also includes a literary-historical timeline.
Availability is limited to St. Ambrose students, faculty, and staff on
campus and off-campus via the proxy server.
-
MEDLINE
-
PubMed is a project
developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National
Institutes of Health (NIH). MEDLINE (MEDlars onLINE) is the National
Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering
the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the
health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE file
contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from
approximately 3,900 current biomedical journals published in the
United States and 70 foreign countries. The file contains
approximately 9 million records dating back to 1966. Coverage is
worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or
have English abstracts."
-
netLibrary
-
A comprehensive collection
of full-text online books and resource materials, which can be
accessed from any location. First you must create an
individual account with netLibrary from any computer on campus.
After you create your account you are free to login to netLibrary
from anywhere.
- OT Seeker
This is a database that contains citations
and abstracts of over 2500 systematic reviews and randomized controlled
trials relevant to occupational therapy. It does not
contain any full-text. Available to faculty, students, and staff
both on and off campus.
-
Oxford English Dictionary
-
Offers comprehensive
information from the Oxford English Dictionary considered "the
internet's biggest, most prestige-laden reference book" (The
Guardian).
-
Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection
The Oxford Reference Collection provides
full-text of over 125 title, including encyclopedias, quotations,
full-color maps, dictionaries, timelines, and other reference materials.
Available to St. Ambrose students, faculty, and staff on campus or via
the proxy server for off-campus.
-
-
Book Catalog
-
This book catalog contains
the holdings of our library and all the public, academic and special
libraries in the Quad-Cities and surrounding areas, with the
exception of Augustana College. You can limit your search to display
only the holdings of St. Ambrose University Library, or you can
search in all libraries.
Augustana College Library book catalog details
books that are available for students, faculty, and staff to check
out. Your SAU ID card will enable you to check materials out
from the Augustana College Library.
As an alternative, you can request that these materials be sent to
the Library for pickup at your convenience.
-
PsycINFO
-
This database
from the American Psychological Association
(APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of
scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations,
all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the
1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal
coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international
material selected from approximately 2,050 periodicals in more than
25 languages. Available to St. Ambrose students, faculty, and
staff on campus, or via the proxy server off-campus.
-
- Social & Behavioral Sciences
This
database provides full-text for over 370 journals covering a broad range
of psychology and
business titles. Available to St. Ambrose students,
faculty, and staff on
campus, or via the proxy server off-campus.-
-
-
Social Work Abstracts
-
Social Work Abstracts Plus, from the national association of social
workers, contains two separate databases, Social Work Abstracts and
the Register of Clinical Social Workers. Social Work Abstracts
contains information on the fields of social work and human services
from 1977 to present. The database provides exceptional coverage of
more than 450 journals in all areas of the profession, including
theory and practice, areas of service, social issues and social
problems. The Register of Clinical Social Workers is a directory of
clinical social workers in the U.S. It contains information
such as name, address, telephone number, employer, education and
employment history, as well as type of practice and licensing
information. This database does not supply full text
information. Authorization number and password are required for use.
-
St. Ambrose University Dissertations
Search for dissertations
written by students at St. Ambrose University. Full text is
available of dissertations published after 1996. For on campus
use, or via the proxy server for off-campus.
-
-
Wiley Interscience Journals
Wiley
Interscience provides full-text of over 250 journals on business,
science, education, law, engineering, medicine,
social science, and psychology. Searchable by keyword
or publication title. Available to St. Ambrose students, faculty
and staff on campus, or via the proxy server for off-campus.
-
-
Women Writers Project
-
The Brown University Women
Writers Project is a long-term research project devoted to early
modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. Available at
all computers on campus or available off-campus if you dial in to
the SAU modem and log-in with your ID and password. For research
assistance you may e-mail Stella Herzig at
librefdesk@sau.edu, or call
the reference desk at the Library, (563) 333-6245, where any
librarian can assist you. Off-campus use is limited to St. Ambrose
students, faculty and staff that log in to SAU proxy server.
Full Text:
A full text designation does not represent
the *full content* of any given journal. The extent of the full
text-"ness" of a database is left to the discretion of the publisher
of the individual journals. Many times, they do not
include classifieds, advertisements, cartoons, charts & graphs,
photographs, and anything else extraneous to the text itself.
Furthermore, because of copyright restrictions, not all the journals
indexed in a full text database will be available full text. You can
immediately identify whether the full text is or is not available
on-line, from the citation.
|